A-Z

Saw this on Gigi’s blog and thought it was a cute and lighthearted way to start off this snowy morning!  I haven’t done one of these silly surveys since college, when MySpace was rampant.  It gives me something different to do while I enjoy my sesame bagel and cappuccino, because the news is majorly depressing. 

This article in today’s Inky, A wary Point Breeze confronts its demographic shifts, refers to an area between where I live and where the boyfriend lives, and frankly – I am all for gentrification.  Call me what you will, but I think it’s a necessary part in the evolution and success of a city.  Cities without gentrification are destined to fail and become destitute.  Some people may not be happy with gentrification because they are driven out, or afraid of change; but what exactly do they want to keep the same?  A friend’s boyfriend used to live in Point Breeze, he bought a dirt cheap house there, and the lovely neighborhood at 2am consisted of a bunch of huge scary guys most likely dealing drugs on the corner.  Why would anyone want drug dealers on the corner, regardless of your race or class?  Sure, no one really likes the hipsters that frequently are the first to move into these newly gentrified areas (i.e.: Northern Liberties, Fishtown, Graduate Hospital), and I certainly don’t blame them, but look at how beautiful an area can become from positive changes.  I wish everyone could peacefully co-exist, but that’s like saying unicorns are dancing on the moon tonight!

Anyway, here’s the survey!

A. Age:  27

B. Bed size:  Queen, upgrading to a King soon!  I always thought that would be just too much bed, but with the pets hogging it all, it works!

C. Chore you dislike:  taking out the trash, ew

D. Dogs: Monkey, my little man!

E. Essential start to your day: coffee and some type of breakfast food – bagel, toast, oatmeal, yogurt

F. Favorite color: pink

G. Gold or silver: gold at the moment

H. Height: 5’1″

I. Instruments you play(ed):  piano and clarinet for a hot minute back in elementary school

J. Job title:  officially, “administrative assistant,” but ideally it should be brokerage assistant or something more fulfilling since I don’t just answer phones and file papers!

K. Kids: none yet, thank god haha

L. Live: illy Philly

M. Mom’s name:  Christina

N. Nicknames: Trannie is hilariously my fav, Bennifer is so dreadful

O. Overnight hospital stays:  nada, knock on wood

P. Pet peeves:  inconsiderate smokers, bad drivers, dog owners who don’t pick up the poop

Q. Quote from a movie:  how about a quote from Toddlers & Tiaras, a trainwreck that I just cannot stop watching…. “we’re gonna be late for diva day!!!!!”

R. Righty or lefty: Righty

S. Siblings: 1 brobro

T. Time you wake up:  6:25 is when the alarm goes off… 6:50-7 is when I usually roll out of bed

U. Underwear:  yes?

V. Vegetables you don’t like:  celery, raw bell peppers, lima beans

W.What makes you run late:  when Monkey dawdles on a walk

X. X-rays you’ve had:  teeth, my one foot

Y. Yummy food you make:  a lot of stuff 🙂

Z. Zoo animal favorites:  the primate house at the philly zoo!

Leave a Reply

